About Elanor


Elanor is a young Belgian folk group with roots in Ghent. In May of 2013, five seasoned musicians put their instruments together. A steaming accordion, a solid and sound hurdy-gurdy, virtuosic bagpipes and swinging flutes served in a spicy broth of bass and guitar.


The music is energetic, easy to dance to and innovative with traditional elements.
Original compositions and arrangements also allow a sitting audience to swing with pleasure.


Bert Leemans (EmBRUN, Les Boîtes, Triple-X, Variomatic) and Bart Praet have known each other for years as fellow musical countrymen. One melody after another emerged from Bart’s bagpipes and flutes. Bert eagerly caught the melodies and secretly stored them between the panels of his accordion. Some time later Bert shared the stage with Thomas Hoste (Cecilia). Presumably both hurdy-gurdy devotees stood listening to a mouth watering French hurdy-gurdy group... with a lot of desire to start working together. The three gentlemen met, the seed of Elanor had sprouted!


The trio was immediately reinforced by a finely tuned DADGAD guitar, played by the keen and young scion Kuni Quintens. Jelle Van Cleemputte (Les Bandits de Belleville) ensures with his jazzy bass lines that the drone violence is enveloped in beautiful harmonies.


In 2013, Elanor launched a demo CD, rather as a business card to organizers.
The first full CD "A Clear Look" came in the spring of 2016.

Sur Elanor


Elanor est un jeune groupe folk belge de Gand. En mai 2013, cinq musiciens chevronnés décident de mettre leurs instruments ensemble. Un accordéon fumant, une vieille à roue solide et intègre, des cornemuses virtuoses et des flûtes dansantes, servis sur un fond épicé de la basse et de la guitare.


La musique est très énergique, dansable et rafraîchissante avec des éléments traditionnels.
Des propres compositions et arrangements font que même un publique assis se met à danser.


Bert Leemans (EmBRUN, Les Boîtes, Triple-X, Variomatic) et Bart Praet étaient des concitoyens musicaux depuis des années. Bart secouait déjà mélodie après mélodie de ses cornemuses et de ses flûtes. Bert les attrapait avidement et les cachait secrètement entre les lamelles de son accordéon. Pas longtemps après, Bert se trouvait devant un podium avec Thomas Hoste (Cecilia). Probablement les deux initiés de vielle à roue écoutaient, plein d’enthousiasme, un groupe de vielle à roue français. Ça leur donnait envie de commencer leur collaboration. Les trois hommes se rencontraient et Elanor pouvait enfin naître.


Le trio était immédiatement renforcé par une guitare en accordage DADGAD, jouée par le jeune et rigoureux Kuni Quintens. Jelle Van Cleemputte (Les Bandits de Belleville) porte toute cette violence de bourdon dans des belles harmonies de jazz avec sa basse.


En 2013, Elanor a lancé un CD de démonstration, un peu comme une carte de visite aux organisateurs.
Le premier CD complet "A Clear Look" est venu au printemps 2016.