BIOGRAPHY


BART PRAET

uilleann pipes, bagpipe, gaita, wooden flute
Bart Praet's roots are not far from Gooik, a place that breathes folk & folk music, as it were. From an early age he got to know and play folk music thanks to, among others, Herman Dewit, Rosita Tahon and Walter Evenepoel. As a young fellow he studied bagpipe at the academy with Jean-Pierre Van Hees. At this point in his musical journey he already met Bert Leemans! Thanks to the extensive Galician community in Brussels (Centro Galego de Bruxelas), he came into contact with the gaita. He also ventured toward the uilleann pipes, a defining instrument for the characteristic sound of Elanor. Bart developed into a multi-instrumentalist and, in addition to all kinds of bagpipes, also plays the recorder and wooden flute. Nearly all compositions in Elanor were created by him!

THOMAS HOSTE

electro-acoustic hurdy gurdies (alto & soprano)
Since the hurdy-gurdy crossed his path, Thomas has been enchanted by the rich sound of this unique instrument. The infatuation became a true passion. Thomas followed intensive workshops & internships domestically (Martina Diessner, Iep Fourier, Hans Quaghebeur…) and abroad (Gregory Jolivet, Gilles Chabenat, Isabelle Pignol, Valentin Clastrier…) Several years later he turned to the crank himself with the young folk bands Kléan, Barnabas & Findus. Now he tours throughout Western Europe with the established balfolk formation Cecilia (with Jan Leeflang and Greet Wuyts). In addition, he is a frequently requested guest musician at different ensembles. Thanks to his background in computer science, Thomas can combine ancient sounds with the most modern sound techniques. For many years, Thomas has also been a permanent instructor of his instrument, i.a. at the Stichting Draailier & Doedelzak (the Netherlands), at the non-profit association Westelfolk and at the academies of Dranouter, Gooik and Ghent.

BERT LEEMANS

accordion, accordina
Bert Leemans has played the chromatic accordion since he was eight. He attended ten years of lessons at the Music Academy of Meerbeke with Jurgen Vansteenkiste, Philippe Thuriot and Cindy Michielse. He learned to play folk during internships with Riccardo Tesi, Cyril Roche and Stéphane Milleret. In addition to the accordion he also plays the accordina. He took his first steps on the stage with the folk group Broekzak. Bert is a founding member of the folk group EmBRUN and an active musician in numerous other folk bands: Triple-X, B-Boa, Les Boîtes, Variomatic, the Leemans-Driessens duo, EmBRIO. In addition to all these projects you can also hear him play solo, possibly in duet with himself thanks to a loop station. Bert plays a Saltarelle chromatic accordion and an accordina by Marcel Dreux.

JELLE VAN CLEEMPUTTE

electric basses, kick
From an early age Jelle Van Cleemputte experimented with all kinds of instruments, including the violin, piano, guitar and drums. After a jam session with guitarist and childhood friend Kuni he found his one true passion: the bass guitar. He immediately started bass guitar training with Koen Kimpe. In 2009 he was admitted to the Royal Conservatory of Ghent (now named School Of Arts). There he was taught by Christoff De Visscher and Vincent Pierins (Clouseau) among others and graduated with honours in 2014. In the meanwhile he attended double bass training and also teaches lessons himself at the music schools of Geraardsbergen and Ronse. Jelle is active in several bands and familiar with many genres. For instance, he plays bass guitar in the pop music group Zinger (winner of Nieuwe Lichting 2015) and double bass at the (gipsy) jazz band Les Bandits de Belleville. Bert Leemans introduced him to the folk scene. He plays at the folk band Zigo and he already was the substitute bass player for EmBRUN and POLK XL.

KUNI QUINTENS

acoustic guitar
Kuni Quintens was interested in the guitar from an early age, mainly thanks to his uncle Erik Verbeeck (bassist for the Stuffed Babies on Wheels & Agent Cooker). Pretty quickly he started the training for classical guitar with Rebecca Wannyn at the Municipal Academy of Geraardsbergen. He became interested in folk after visiting some folk festivals (Gooikoorts, Na Fir Bolg, ...) and after attending a DADGAD guitar workshop by Maarten Decombel. In 2010, he was on stage for the first time with Purkwapa. He also got involved in the organisation of the folkbal Latjughan in Ghent for a few years.

BIOGRAPHIE


BART PRAET

uilleann pipes, cornemuse, gaita, traverso
Les racines de Bart Praet ne se trouvent pas loin de Gooik, qui est un endroit qui respire en quelque sorte le folk et la musique folklorique. Depuis sa jeunesse et grâce, entre autres, à Herman Dewit, Rosita Tahon et Walter Evenepoel, il découvre et apprend à jouer la musique folk. Etant jeune homme, il étudie la cornemuse dans l’académie chez Jean-Pierre Van Hees. Il rencontrerait Bert Leemans déjà sur son parcours musical. Grâce à la grande communauté galicienne à Bruxelles (Centro Galego de Bruxelas), il découvre la gaita. Il tente aussi de jouer des ‘uilleann pipes’, un instrument spécifique au son typique de Elanor. Bart s’est développé comme un multi-instrumentiste et joue, en plus de tous les types de cornemuse, de la flûte à bec et du traverso. Il a composé presque tous les morceaux de Elanor.

THOMAS HOSTE

vielle à roue électroacoustique (alto & soprano)
Depuis la vielle à roue a croisé son chemin, Thomas Hoste a été enchanté par le son riche de cet instrument unique. L’amour devenait une véritable passion. Thomas à participé à des ateliers et des stages intensifs en Belgique (Martina Diessner, Iep Fourier, Hans Quaghebeur, …) et à l’étranger (Gregory Jolivet, Gilles Chabenat, Isabelle Pignol, Valentin Clastrier, …). Quelques années après, c’était lui qui jouait cet instrument dans les jeunes groupes de folk Kléan, Barnabas & Findus. Actuellement il tourne autour de l’Europe occidentale avec la formation de folk Cecilia (avec Jan Leeflang et Greet Wuyts). Il est aussi fréquemment invité dans des différents groupes. Grâce à son passé dans l’informatique, il sait combiner les sons anciens avec les techniques sonores les plus courantes. Depuis des années, Thomas est également instructeur de vielle à roue, notamment chez Stichting Draailier & Doedelzak (Pays-Bas), ASBL Westelfolk et aux académies de Dranouter, Gooik et Gand.

BERT LEEMANS

accordéon chromatique, accordina
Bert Leemans a joué l’accordéon chromatique depuis qu’il a huit ans. Il a étudié dix ans à l’académie de Meerbeke chez Jurgen Vansteenkiste, Philippe Thuriot et Cindy Michielse. Bert apprenait le métier folk pendant des stages avec Riccardo Tesi, Cyril Roche et Stéphane Milleret. Outre l’accordéon, il joue aussi l’accordina. Il faisait ses premiers pas sur scène avec l’ensemble folk ‘Broekzak’ (‘Poche’). Bert est un membre fondateur de l’ensemble folk EmBRUN et est actif comme musicien dans des nombreux ensembles : Triple-X, B-Boa, Les Boîtes, Variomatic, duo Leemans-Driessens, EmBRIO. En plus de tous ces projets, on peut aussi l’entendre en solo, et même en duo avec lui-même, utilisant un pédalier de boucles. Bert joue sur un accordéon chromatique de Saltarelle et un accordina de Marcel Dreux.

JELLE VAN CLEEMPUTTE

guitare basse, kick
Depuis qu’il était jeune, Jelle Van Cleemputte expérimentait déjà avec des nombreux instruments comme le violon, le piano, la guitare et la batterie. Après un bœuf (jam-session) avec son ami d’enfance et guitariste Kuni, il découvre finalement sa vraie passion : la guitare basse. Il commence immédiatement la formation guitare basse chez Koen Kimpe. En 2009, il est admis au Conservatoire Royal de Gand (actuellement ‘School of Arts’ – ‘l’École des Arts’). Là il suit des cours avec, entre autres, Christoff Devisscher et Vincent Pierins (Clouseau) afin d’être diplômé avec les honneurs en 2014. Entre-temps, il suit également des cours de contrebasse et donne lui-même des cours dans les écoles de musique de Geraardsbergen et Ronse. Jelle joue dans plusieurs groupes et a connaissance de nombreux genres. Il joue de la basse dans le groupe pop Zinger (gagnant ‘Nieuwe Lichting’ - ‘Fournée Suivante’ 2015) et de la contrebasse dans le groupe de jazz (tzigane) Les Bandits de Belleville. Bert Leemans l’a introduit sur la scène folk. Il joue dans le groupe folk Zigo et en plus était déjà bassiste de réserve dans EmBRUN et POLK XL.

KUNI QUINTENS

Guitare acoustique
Kuni Quintens s’intéressait déjà très tôt à la guitare, principalement grâce à son oncle Erik Verbeeck (qui était bassiste chez Stuffed Babies on Wheels et Agent Cooker). Il commençait assez rapidement sa formation en guitare classique chez Rebecca Wannyn à l’Académie Municipale de Geraardsbergen. Il attraperait le virus folk après avoir visité quelques festivals folks (Gooikoorts, Na Fir Bolg, …) et après avoir assisté à un atelier de guitare DADGAD par Maarten Decombel. En 2010 il se trouvait pour la première fois sur scène avec Purkwapa. Il était aussi engagé pendant quelques années dans l’organisation de Latjughan à Gand.